Indian Super League (ISL) Winners List of All Seasons: 1,2,3 - Top Post

Indian Super League (ISL) Winners List of All Seasons: 1,2,3

Football was not well promoted in India leading to repeated dismay in FIFA team selection every year but starting 2014 initiatives have been taken to encourage the game of football. Indian Super Leagues was founded in 2013 with an attempt to publicize the game of football in India and was officially launched on 21st October 2013 in collaboration with IMG-Reliance, AIFF and Star Sports. Indian Super League is men’s professional football league organised in India since 2014 and is a great way to boost the game in our country. The league generally runs from October to December and is widely celebrated event across the country. So far there are two seasons that have been completed and the league started in 2014. The 3rd season of Indian Premier League 2016 is to be premiered from October and is one of the most awaited events of the year. It is indeed a great boost to Indian Football federation.

Indian Super League Season 1 Winner(Atletico de Kolkata)

Atletico de Kolkata

There was lot of speculation when the first season of Indian Premier League started in 2014 as it was one of its kinds in India and for the first time football was promoted on such large platform. In the first season of ISL 8 teams participated in the game and bidding for the teams started by end of 2013. The selected states or cities for participation in 2014 ISL were Pune, Delhi, Goa, Chennai, Guwahati, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai and the bids were made by film stars and business men.

Related  Winner of T20 world cup 2016 with score card(West indies Won second T20 Title)

The winner of the first season of Indian Premier League was Kolkata which is named for the ISL tournament as “Atletico de Kolkata” and the head coach for the Kolkata Team in 2014 was Jose Francisco Molina. Kolkata defeated Kerala Blasters in the last and final match on 20th December by 1-0 and emerged as first winner of the league. The venue for the last match was in D.Y Patil Stadium in Mumbai and hero of the league was awarded to Canadian Footballer Iain Hume. The league ended with awarding the Golden Boot award to Elano who is a Brazilian footballer and Sandesh Jhingan from Kerala Blasters was recognised as the most emerging player. The winning prize was 8 Crores awarded to Atletico de Kolkata and the first runner up Kerala Blasters was awarded 4 crores.

Indian Super League Season 2 Winner (Chennaiyin FC)

Chennaiyin FC

The second started was aired with a bang in October 2015 again with 8 teams competing with each other. Indian Super League 1 got immense popularity and the trend continued even in its season 2. The winning team for ISL Season 2 was Chennaiyin FC and the final match took place on 20th December where Chennaiyin FC won against Goa by 3-2 goal. The venue of the match was at Fatorda Stadium with around 18,477 spectators. The hero of the league was Colombia based Stiven Mendoza  and the golden boot was also presented to him.

The last minutes of the match was full of suspense but ultimately Chennaiyin FC won the match by kicking the most crucial goal at the end moment. The winning goal was done by 23 year world Stiven Mendoza. The golden glove award was given awarded to Edel Bete who gave outstanding performance and played his part as an efficient goalkeeper. He won the award twice and season 2 was his second golden glove award in row. It was a close call between the winning and runner-up team but the last minute winning goal made the difference.

Related  The 7 most ridiculous things about the idea of Neymar moving

Indian Super Leagues Season 3

The advertisement and promotion of the third season for IPL is in full swing and is scheduled to be starting from October and end by December. The 3rd season of IPL also sees 8 teams in full action ready to compete against each other. Currently not much is revealed about the cash prize that will be awarded to the winning and neither much is known about the pattern of team distribution.  The new season definitely comes with more promising performance and is expected to show the audience neck to neck competition. May the best team win and the best player be recognised with golden boot, golden glove and man of the league awards.



Do you like this post?
  • Fascinated
  • Happy
  • Sad
  • Angry
  • Bored
  • Afraid

Add Comment