Indian Idol Winners List of all Seasons Till Date - Top Post

Indian Idol Winners List of all Seasons Till Date

Indian television industry has been a quite a famed place for viewer’s paradise with shows like Indian Idol ruling the charts. Staying atop as one of the best musical shows around, Indian Idol has garnered quite a fame till date. And to mark the occasion, we’re here with the Indian Idol Winners List of All Seasons till Date in our blog.

Let’s head over to the introduction of the show before we dwell upon the winner’s chart.

What’s Indian Idol?

A primetime singing competition that based on the concept of Pop Idol that originated in Britain, Indian Idol is themed to find the best independent solo singer. The show has been featured in over forty-six regions over the world.

Indian Idol is part of the Sony Entertainment Network and features a select group of candidates out from the audition reel among different parts of the nation. The show then proceeds over for a period of time whereby the judgement panel and voting power from viewers define the winners of the list. The winners get along a solo album deal and a cash reward along with the winner’s tag.

Now with the introduction done and dusted, let’s head down to the winners list of all seasons.

 Indian Idol Season 1 (2004-05) Winner: (Abhijeet Sawant)

Abhijeet Sawant

The very first season of the show started way back in 2004-05 in from October 2004 to March 2005 which was won by Abhijeet Sawant. Abhijeet Sawant, a resident of Mumbai, won the competition beating the likes of Amit Sana, Rahul Vaidya, and Prajakta Shukre in the last battle between remaining four contestants.

The season saw Anu Malik, Sonu Nigam and Farah Khan as judges while the host for the show was Aman Verma and Mini Mathur. The show was aired on Sony Network.

Indian Idol Season 2 (2005-06) Winner: (Sandeep Acharya) 


With the first season garnering reviews from all around, the second one kicked in from 21 November 2005 to 22 April 2006. The second season was also a part of Sony Network who aired the show on its prime channel Sony TV.

The show featured the same judge panel from the first season in the ilk of Anu Malik, Farah Khan, and Sonu Nigam. Aman Verma and Mini Mathur continued the hosting duties for the show.

Related  India's Next Top Model Season 2 "2016" Winner, Judges & Contestants Name

The second season of Indian Idol was won by Sandeep Acharya while N.C Karunya was placed at first runner-up. It saw Anuj Sharma, Amey Date, and Antara Mitra feature at second runner-up, third runner-up, and fourth runner-up position respectively.

Indian Idol Season 3 (2007) Winner: (Prashant Tamang)

Prashant Tamang

Sony Network continued with the Indian Idol show along for the third season with it being aired from 4th May 2007 to 23rd September 2007. The show featured a massive response from the crowds and viewers.

It had Anu Malik, Javed Akhtar, Alisha Chinai and Udit Narayan as the judges. The show was hosted by Hussain Kuwajerwala and Mini Mathur. It saw Prashant Tamang, a resident of Kolkata and bearing the origin from Nepal take away the winner’s trophy.

The show had Amit Paul from Shillong, Meghalaya finish as the first runner-up while Meiyang Chan, Suhit Ghosain, Parleen, and Abhishek feature as the other four finalists. As was the contractual award to the winners from Sony Network, Prashant Tamang launched his solo album named as ‘Dhanyabad’.

Indian Idol Season 4 (2008-09) Winner: (Sourabhee Debbarma)

Sourabhee Debbarma

The fourth season of the Indian Idol was aired from 19th of September, 2008 to 1st of March 2009. The show was still a part of Sony Network and was aired on its prime channel Sony TV.

The show saw Anu Malik and Javed Akhtar continue as the judge from the previous season. However, there was an addition of two new faces in form of Kailash Kher and Sonali Bendre in as judges. The show was hosted by Hussain Kuwajerwala and Meiyang Chan.

The fourth season saw two female participants in as the top three finalists. The show was won by Sourabhee Debbarma while Kapil Thapa and Torsha Sarkar finish as the first runner up and second runner up for the season. Sourabhee Debbarma also released her solo album title Meherbaan as her deal with Sony Entertainment. She was also awarded a cash prize of Rs 1 crore along with the winner’s trophy.

Indian Idol Season 5 (2010) Winner: (Sreeram Chandra)

Sreeram Chandra

With four seasons done and dusted, it’s time for the fifth one in the history of Indian Idol. The fifth season saw itself aired on the Sony Network on its prime channel Sony TV. The show had an overwhelming response via the reviews and viewers.

Related  Dance India Dance Season 6 2017 Audition Date, Online Registration Details

The show saw Anu Malik, Salim Merchant, and Sunidhi Chauhan as the judges while the hosting duties went to Hussain Kuwajerwala. It had 112 contestants selected over a period of several rounds.

The contestants were then shortlisted into Top 16 who were laid on a battle to the winner’s place. The show saw its final episode aired on 15th August 2010 (the day coincides with Indian Independence Day) with three contestants vying for the trophy.

The final saw Sreeramchandra Mynampati wins the winner’s trophy along with a deal for a solo music album. Bhoomi and Rakesh filled in as the first and second runner-up for the season.

Indian Idol Season 6 (2012) Winner: (Vipul Mehta)

Vipul Mehta

The sixth season of the show was aired on by Sony Network on its prime channel Sony TV. The season was aired from 1st of June 2012 to 1st September 2012. The show had Anu Malik, Sunidhi Chauhan, and Salim Merchant reprise their roles as the judge from the previous season.

The show also had Asha Bhosle join in as the judge in from the audition rounds. The season was hosted by Hussain Kuwajerwala along with Mini Mathur.

The season was won by Vipul Mehta who won a deal for a solo album from the Sony Entertainment. The show featured Amit Kumar and Devendra Pal Singh finish as other two finalists along Vipul Mehta. The season had 16 contestants at the start of it.

With the seventh one on the verge of searing back, we hope to enthrall you on the news pretty soon. As of now, all we can conclude is that Sonu Nigam has been earmarked as one of the judges for the seventh season. We shall be back with more the next time. Stay tuned.

Do you like this post?
  • Fascinated
  • Happy
  • Sad
  • Angry
  • Bored
  • Afraid

Add Comment