ICC Champions Trophy 2017 - Top Post

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

ICC Champions Trophy, 2017

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Virat Kohli Shares A Few Laughs With Rival Captains

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Hardik Pandya’s Six Vs Bangladesh Will Remind You Of MS Dhoni

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: My first choice is India, says Wriddhiman Saha

icc champions trophy 2017 schedule

Back in 1998, in the city of Dhaka, the first edition then christened as ICC Knockout and popularly called as the mini World Cup took the cricketing world by storm. Nearly two decades later, the eighth edition — ICC Champions Trophy 2017 — will be held in England and Wales from June 1 to 18. England will be hosting the tournament for the third time, and second consecutive time.

West Indies, who had won the tournament in England in 2004, will not be featuring in this edition for the first time. They missed out qualification by the cut-off date. The tournament will start with hosts England taking on Bangladesh at The Oval, London. Bangladesh will be playing the tournament after more than a decade. Over the next 18 days, the matches in the tournament will be held in three venues in the UK — The Oval in London, Edgbaston in Birmingham and Sophia Gardens in Cardiff, which is in Wales.  The final of the tournament will be held at The Oval.

The 8 teams for the competition are divided in two groups — Group A and Group B. Group A will see Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and England, competing for qualification in the next round while the Group B will see India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. The most anticipated clash of the event is the Group B match between India and Pakistan, which will be held at Edgbaston on Sunday, June 4.

After a lot of drama post the tiff between BCCI and ICC, the former have finally announced the Indian squad for the mega event. Having beaten hosts England in the Champions Trophy 2013 final, India enter the tournament as defending champions.

Like aforementioned, the first edition, in 1998, was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The Hansie Cronje-led South Africa won the edition by beating West Indies in the final. The 2000 edition, in Nairobi was won by New Zealand when Chris Cairns inspired the Kiwis to a sensational win against the Sourav Ganguly-led India. The final of the 2002 edition in Colombo between neighbours India and Sri Lanka ended in washouts  — twice and hence the trophy was shared.

The 2004 edition was won by West Indies when they downed the hosts England and in 2006, Australia laid their hands on the trophy for the first time. This time the mega event was staged in India. In 2009, Australia won the tournament again, this time in South Africa. In 2013, it was MS Dhoni’s India to continue their fine run. In terms of win success, India are the most successful side, having won over 71 per cent of their Champions Trophy encounters.

Date and Time


Related  Winner of T20 world cup 2016 with score card(West indies Won second T20 Title)

Do you like this post?
  • Fascinated
  • Happy
  • Sad
  • Angry
  • Bored
  • Afraid

Add Comment